Back to School: Washi Tape Pencils PLUS Matching Pencil Jar!

Washi Tape Pencils and Jar

I’ve been spending lots of time on the internet lately, looking for ideas to customize my boring school supplies. Washi tape pencils are all over Pinterest (follow Duct Tape Doodles here), so I decided to give them a try! This craft worked REALLY well, and I’m super impressed with this method because the completed pencils can still be sharpened, although I recommend using a handheld sharpener just in case. They were super easy to make, and to be honest, once I started I couldn’t stop! Here’s how I did it:

Materials: Pencils, washi tape

1. Cut 2 pieces of washi tape to be the same length as the unsharpened part of the pencil.

2. Wrap the pencil! I recommend wrapping the pencil vertically, instead of coiling the tape around it. This uses less tape, and in my opinion looks a lot better. You will most likely need two pieces of tape to cover the entire pencil.

Wrapping the pencil

 

And that’s pretty much it! I was really enjoying washi taping, though, so I decided to make a matching pencil jar. This was inspired by LaurDIY’s Mason Jar Cup.

Materials:

A jar (I used a caper jar because I liked its tall, thin shape.)

Washi tape

1. Wash the jar and remove the label.

Clean Jar

2. Cut pieces of washi tape and wrap them around the jar.

Taped Jar3. Insert your pencils!

Pencils in Jar

That’s all for now! It may be a bit until my next post, because the new school year will be very busy. See ya soon!

7 thoughts on “Back to School: Washi Tape Pencils PLUS Matching Pencil Jar!

  1. Pingback: Duct Tape Winter Portable Speakers | Duct Tape Doodles

  2. Pingback: Duct Tape Desk Organizer | Duct Tape Doodles

What do you think?

